© Springer-Verlag 1991

## Announcement

## International Academy of Quantum Molecular Sciences

At its 24th Annual Meeting in Menton on June 30th, 1991, the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Sciences has taken the following actions.

It has elected four new members, namely

Professor R. J. Bartlett, University of Florida, Gainsville, USA, Professor M. V. Basilevsky, Karpov Institute, Moscow, USSR, Professor W. Kohn, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA, Professor B. O. Roos, University of Lund, Sweden.

It has awarded its 1991 Medal to Professor Axel Becke, Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada,

"for unique advances in the numerical methods of density functional theory as applied to molecules, and for important developments in the understanding of the exchange-correlation functional that enters density functional theory".

It has elected the following new bureau of the Academy for the period 1991-1994:

- R. G. Parr, president,
- K. Morokuma, vice-president,
- N. C. Handy, secretary,
- E. R. Davidson, treasurer,
- B. Pullman, member at large.

Alberte Pullman President, 1988–1991